Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Reading

Hi

I have just done a search on reading schemes and found it has not been discussed for over a year. With new people on board all the time I'm hoping for some inspiration.

I am a reception class teacher. The school policy is to change book daily (or as the children desire) for a book of their choice. This can be any band, and the idea is for the parents to read to their children to develop a love of books, imagination etc.

On top of recording this daily we also listen to children read. Offically this should be 'at least once a week' but in reality once a week is hard enough, and it is spread between me, the TA and any helpers we have.

We make notes in a school record book and notes in the home-school contact book too.

All thsi is very hard to fit in. We try to listent io children during quiet readings essions int he afternoon, but a class of 30 4-5 year olds can't read quietly for 15 mins as hoped and it is impossible to hear enough children read individually in this time.

Does anyone have a way of working that they can share with me? How often do children change books, how much info do you share with parents, when do you hear them read??

ps. At this early stage in the year we haven't started any of this type of reading yet but there is alot of discussion on it at school at the moment and a parenst meeting planned and I want to be prepared for later in the year!

thanks for any help! :o

Hi

I'm a Reception teacher, and we hear them read during guided reading sessions (6 chidren in one session) not individual.  We record a target in their reading record, and the book they read at school may not necessarily be their home reader.  We send home a traffic light:

The guided session is done ny me or the TA and each group is heard at least twice a week.