Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

New Baby Care Unit

Hi Everyone

I am in the process of relocating my current pre-school to a new location which will involve full daycare instead of sessional and a baby unit. Am very exited but the baby unit is challenging as I have never worked in or run one before. Was hoping people would be willing to share expereinces with me? Have so many questions but here are the most pressing ones!

1. At the moment I can`t get my head around staffing. Am planning on opening 8-6. How do others work out staff rotas/shifts?

2. Do you all use wooden cots or has anyone tried travel cots - space will be at a premium for me?

3. Do you keep to a strict routine in line with nursery running or do you try to follow the home routine?

4.Bottles - do parents bring them in for the day or do you make them up?

Any other things you have found to be helpful or pit falls to avoid that you are willing to share would also be gratefully received.

Sally

1. At the moment I can`t get my head around staffing. Am planning on opening 8-6. How do others work out staff rotas/shifts?

I found that the best way for us to work shifts was everybody did 8-6 with a 1/2 day off each week. The reason that I opted for this was originally we worked alternate shifts of 8 - 5 and 9 -6, however as the setting got busier we were getting more and more children arriving before 9 so I had to guess how many staff i needed before 9 which was very risky. We got paid for 45 hours a week so typically you would do mon - fri 8-6 and fri 9 - 1, or 1-5. I chose the option of people coming in a hour late or leaving an hour early because it was better to cover dinners as staff got paid for their dinner hour 8-9, or 5-6 would technically be their hour's dinner. This probably doesn't make sense.

2. Do you all use wooden cots or has anyone tried travel cots - space will be at a premium for me?