Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Class Design Help

Hey everyone.

My name is Francoise and I have been teaching for about 10 years in Foundation Stage although this is my first post here, so hello all! I was on maternity leave when the EYFS was introduced and although I've read it cover to cover, I've not had any training in it. I've just joined a new school (part time because of bambino) and unfortunately it's gone into special measures during a recent ofsted (due to sats results). I was taken on in September to help try and improve the FS. We are now going to get money thrown at us (apparently) and I have been given the task of coming up with a plan for a whole new reception classroom and outdoor area. Please could you have a look at my ideas below and tell me if you think these I'm on the right track and any further suggestions would be fantastic help. Thank you.

CLASSROOM

Use of natural wood everywhere

Worktops around edge of classroom and minimal tables

Adult sink and child level sink

Kitchen area (for baking and snack) - can you have a cooker in class????

Natural lighting

New unisex toilets - is this ok? and how many would we need?? (there are 45 children - 2 classes in large room)

Large stock cupboard for topic boxes

Early Excellence shelving units for all continuous provision areas

ARE THERE ANY RECENT CHANGES REGARDS CONT PROV AREAS / ANY NEW AREAS ETC???

OUTDOOR

Bumpy area of land for gross motor control (i.e. small hills)

Track for cars and bikes

Parking area for cars and bikes

Outdoor tap

Climbing area and slide (already have)

Willow Weave den

Porch and shelving for wellies etc

Builders area (e.g. workbench, tools, guttering, bricks, wheelbarrows, tyres, crates etc etc)

There's more I can add but you get the idea of the way I'm thinking. Sorry for long post. Hope you can help as I'm sure you all have great ideas. Thank you in advance!!! :o

Edited by Guest