Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

What To Do After Nvq4 Ccld?

hi i i will have completed L4 in july but not sure what to do next !! i was originally told that i could join 2nd year of Foundation degree but have just been informed its now not an option!! rather than start f degree from scatch i have heard there is another pathway called " build your own degree" does any one have any information as my tutor was a bit sketchy!

another issue i have re doing foundation degree is that i am a manager and dont work hands on with children, i am currently mentoring a staff member who is doing it and most of the work is arround education in pre school and not sure i could fulfil criteria plus having to have 2 days out of setting would be a strain as i wouldnt be doing my 40 hours!!

any advice would be appreciated

Hello Jaycooks

I dont no anything about build your own degree but after i did level 4 i went straight onto foundation degree and enjoyed it very much.At the time i was working as a childminder for just one child but this was not a problem because the various tutors we had made sure that all modules/assignments related in some way to what ever setting the students were from(nursery, playgroup, reception class,childminders,out of school clubs).

It was a 2 year course but i only had to go to college one night a week (4 - 9)

I think if you can squeeze in a couple of hours a week with the children you should be able to do the FD.

Hope that helps a bit .Good luck.

I think most foundation degree courses that run in the day are 1 day a week but as unsworth said some do offer late afternoon / an evening course.

I suppose it depends where exactly you want your career to go, whether the degree is a good next step.

Maybe you should do a different degree to the one your staff member is doing if you are not working directly with the children?

Sorry that wasn't much help was it?!!!!!