Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Supervision and appraisals

Hi all.

I'm pretty new to all of this so I'm just going to give it a go a see! I was wondering if anyone could help with a couple of questions;

1) How often do we need to be doing supervision and what sort of formats settings are using / recommend?

2) We do our appraisals once a year, is this enough? and can anyone recommend a good format?

Many thanks :-)

I think that to get the best out of supervisions they need to be fairly regular, maybe every 3 months? and targets for improvement or areas of development should be set. That way you are keeping an eye on staff's progress. I've attached a format I've used but it's easy to tweak it to suit yourself. Finding time to do supervision and appraisal is difficult I think, so I have got senior staff ( if you have them) to do supervisions of their room staff and I do the senior staff. Acas has a good section on appraisals and supervision with some formats I think, they are very good at most things!. I think Ofsted are looking for a process that shows you know where your staff are at, and are monitoring them to show an impact on children's learning and development, otherwise, why bother to do them?!

Good Luck!

http://www.acas.org....?articleid=2927Appraisal and supervision record.doc

When we did the EYFS training we had a session on supervision. We were told the difference was appraisals are more about how you think the staff member is performing and how they can develop whereas the supervision was more a for the member of staff to get any concerns about work or personal issues to you. That's how I understood it anyway. Gathering some ideas for sheets ready for after half term.Wish me luck!