Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Sarah Teather Men In Early Years

I have just read the article in Nursery World 14-27 June 2011 regarding the EYPS.

At the National Day Nursery Association’s Annual Conference, Ms Sarah Teather, who is the Early Years Minister said “the status (EYPS) could be raised if a few more men were involved”.

Do others find this remark offensive and insulting to the women who work in the Early Years profession. Saying that the profession is need of more men on board so that the women in their jobs can get the pay, conditions and status that they deserve!!!

I have been a inner city preschool Leader and SENCO for 8 years now, I have no pension, no sick pay, I am on minimum wage, no overtime or big BONUSES, I do the same work as an FSB Nursery Nurse in a school.

I am studying for the EYPS, with the Open University, and the study has been rewarding not only for myself but for my setting, parents and the agencies I work alongside. At the moment, I am not too sure as to whether I can continue due to the funding cuts.

Her comments do not do nothing for the status of the EYPS, saying that women, like myself who have studied hard and Ms Teather seems to be dumbing the EYPS qualification down as there are few men in childcare.

To say that because I am a woman, in early years, I am less valuable than a man would be in my job is insulting. The main ethos of the EYFS is inclusion and by saying this we are throwing sexual equality out of the window.

bless you - we have been disscussing on the EYP forum and Steve did find link that showed her comments in a different light - i just dont know whats going to happen as the rest of you i'm sure - very uncertain times!!!! :o

If she wants an increase in status, with or without more men, then she needs to fund the sector to allow salaries to reflect the eperience, skills and qualifications that we have.