Jump to content

Photo

Deleting Staff members


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
No replies to this topic

#1 Rebecca_H

Rebecca_H

    Member

  • Admin
  • PipPip
  • 24 posts
  • Gender:Female

Posted 26 April 2017 - 12:17 PM

Staff members may be deleted from Tapestry, even if they have added content to Tapestry (i.e. observations, comments, likes and reports).

 

Contained within this tutorial is guidance for -

1. Individually deleting staff members
2. Deleting staff members in bulk
3. The deletion process

 

1. How to delete an individual staff member

To delete a staff member, please go to the manage staff section in the control panel, clicking on the cog next to the staff you wish to delete (1) in order to select the ‘delete’ option (2).

cog%20to%20delete.png

A pop-up will then appear requesting the confirmation of the deletion of the particular staff member. Please click to confirm deleting the sta or close the pop if you change your mind.

confirm%20individual%20deletion.png

 

When you have confirmed the deletion they will enter a state of ‘awaiting deletion’. You will have 90 days to restore the staff member.

You may search for staff members awaiting deletion by changing the page filter for status on manage staff page to ‘awaiting deletion’ and you'll be presented with a list of your staff members who are 'awaiting deletion'. 

filter%20awaiting%20del.png
Next to each staff member there will be a countdown as indicated by (1) of how long you have remaining to restore the staff member.

You will also be able to restore the staff member by clicking on the cog next to the relative and selecting "Make Active" to restore their account as active (2) or “make inactive” to restore their account as inactive (3).

awaiting%20del%20restore%20(1).png

When choosing to restore as active, you will be directed to the page shown in the screenshot below where you can confirm the restoration to active. If you restore the staff member to active, they will be able to log into Tapestry again.

restore%20act%20(1).png

 

If choosing to restore the staff member as inactive, you will be directed to a similar page, as shown below, where you can confirm the restoration to inactive. If you do this, they will not be able to login to Tapestry so if you do want them to at some point, you will need to activate their account then.
restore%20inact%20(1).png

 

2. How to delete staff members in bulk

You may also delete staff members in bulk.

To do this, please tick the boxes of the staff members you wish to delete as in (1). You will then need to select delete from (2) to select the act of deletion.

bulk%20del%20staff.png

 

You will then be directed to the page shown below where you will need to confirm the deletion. You will have the option of selecting either ‘delete’ or ‘do nothing’ as indicated by (1). When you choose to ‘do nothing’ to certain staff accounts, you will still need to click (2) to confirm the deletion of the other staff members.
con%20bulk%20del.png

 

If you wish to restore multiple accounts, you may tick the boxes next to the staff members (1) and then you may choose to restore them as active or inactive (2).
bulk%20restore%20(1).png

 

This will take you to a page where you will be able to select individually whether to restore the staff members as active or to do nothing, that is to leave them in an awaiting deletion state (1). You will then need to confirm the restoration of the account to active as indicated by (2).
bulk%20restore%20act%20(2).png

 

If the staff members are restored as active, they will be able to log into Tapestry. The staff members you do not restore will remain in 'awaiting deletion' and will not be able to log into Tapestry.

If however you decide to restore the staff members as inactive, you will be directed to the page shown below instead where you will be able to restore the staff members as inactive or to do nothing, that is to leave them in an awaiting deletion state (1). You will then need to confirm the restoration of the account to inactive as indicated by (2).

bulk%20restore%20inact%20(2).png

If the staff members are restored as inactive, they will not be able to log into Tapestry. These staff members will only be able to log into Tapestry if you then make them active. The staff you do not restore will remain in 'awaiting deletion' and will also not be able to log into Tapestry.

 

3. The deletion process

When staff members are first set for deletion, they enter the status of 'awaiting deletion'. When the countdown reaches 1 day remaining for deletion (they are still currently in ‘awaiting deletion’ status), their status will then appear as ‘Deletion will begin imminently’ as indicated by (1).  At this point, a manager may still restore the staff member as active or inactive.

staff%20deletion%20imminent.png

 

After the 90 days of awaiting deletion, the staff members will enter into a status termed ‘being deleted’. The staff members, when ‘being deleted’, cannot be restored by a manager on Tapestry and you will not be able to find them by using your filters in the manage staff section of the control panel. 

The staff members need to remain in "being deleted" as long as there are items on Tapestry of which they are the author - these include observations, comments, likes and reports. Once these are no longer present on Tapestry as a result of their deletion by setting staff, Tapestry will automatically delete the staff member. As a result of this, the amount of time spent in 'being deleted' may vary.

Staff members who are in this state cannot be restored to any other status and will not be able to access Tapestry.

If you come across an observation authored by a staff member who is ‘being deleted’, by clicking on their name, you will be taken to a page similar to this which will show you the staff member's profile and their ‘being deleted’ status.
staff%20being%20deleted.png

 

Once nothing remains on Tapestry of which they are the author, Tapestry is then able to delete them permanently.






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users