Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

The Good, The Bad, And Neg!

Alison

I’m studying the HND early childhood studies and as my early years project I want to look at the impact of the NEG on pre-school/nursery provision and I would be interested to hear from practitioners past and present about how NEG has affected their provision,

Have day nurseries found it a help to be able to offer free places to parents? does the funding cover the costs?

Have schools started taking children younger to cash in on the grant money? Or opened nursery classes because the funding is now available?

Have playgroups closed because they have been unable to offer free NEG places?

Do early years workers find the conditions of grant too prescriptive? Have the requirements affected the way sessions are run? would they like more freedom of choice about the curriculum and play

Over all I want to get a feel of general opinion about NEG has it helped or do workers feel they are jumping through hoops to qualify for NEG?

I know this seems a lot of questions but I wanted to get the ball rolling….. :o

Hi Alison -

Crikey. You're brave - this is not one of those subjects that's likely to be received with apathy... :o

I have just a few points, then I'll leave it to others to fill out the experience. ( I'm assuming you've read the great big long thread on NEG in this same forum? If not you can find it here.

In response. I think the NEG is a first brave and well intentioned step towards funding professional 3-5 year old child care and education. Some of the assumptions (ie that 3-5 year old childcare is now paid for) are a bit premature, and can cause distortions, for example where primary schools now compete with private or charitable nurseries for a standard NEG rate by setting up Foundation Stage Units or nursery settings - yet don't have to conform to the same child/staff ratio.

Some general points (partially in response to your questions):