Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Baseline assessment levels

This is my first time doing a baseline assessment in nursery and I am still settling in children, modelling and setting up basic provision to let the children explore the environment and hopefully show me what they are acapabel of.... so far I still don't feel i really 'know' where the children fit in terms of baseline.

In nursery what are the expectations for chn coming in in terms of developmental stage?

I have overall a fairly able cohort. Would my ave. child be emerging or developing 30-50?

Any advice would be great... x

Only you can answer that as we don't know your children.

We don't do a baseline normally, but this year my staff have gone with their immediate gut feeling to put down where there children are, we did not place into developing emerging or secure. We will do this when we plot our data proper at the end of term 2

The expectation is that they will be at a level which matches their age however this varies depending on your individual children. As a general rule my nursery children come in significantly lower in terms of DM age bands compared to their chronological age and I usually have a mix of children working 16-26 and 22-36 months and most years there are one or two working at 30-50 on entry.

We have spent the first four weeks getting to know the children, observing them and getting a feel for what they are capable of. I don't feel that I have a nailed on dead certain grasp on every child in every area but I now am in the process of making a best fit judgement on where the children currently are. We use Target Tracker so I will update that and it will tell me where it thinks they are, however as it is a computer programme it doesn't have any ability to read grey areas so I will use that as part of my assessment but will make a best fit judgement and reserve the right to over-rule Target Tracker if necessary!

Mel

x