Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Help Rec/ yr1 and yr 2 in small classroom

Hi was wondering if anyone can help. I am starting a new job after Easter with eyfs year 1 and 2 in same class. At the moment it is v formal with worksheets,books whole class teaching and only 2 areas of continuous provision . I have been teaching a mixed rec and year 1 class for 4 years and never feel like I get the balance right. Has anyone got any planning formats they use, timetables etc of how I can run it but more like an eyfs unit with continuous provision but also cater for year 1 and 2. Any help would be great fully received.

Guest LornaW

Wow! Seggi now that is a challenge but I believe it is do-able! First set up your environment and decide how you are going cover the curriculum. You may want to use books as a theme or have some themes/topics and then you need to find a provocation or hook to get the children engaged. Then look at the curriculum and mind map what you think will be covered and what levels for the different children in your class. You can do directt teaching in small groups and have challenges for the older children while the EY children have child initiated. I would suggest you look at the Sally Featherstone books Carrying on in Key Stage One as they are full of a wealth of ideas.

I have some timetables on my computer and if you are interested send me a direct message and I'll email them to you.

LornaW

Edited by LornaW

Thanks lorna