Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Achondroplasia

Hi,

I am a nursery teacher and have a child starting in September who has achondroplasia. I wondered if anyone had any advice or tips for me so that I can ensure the child can access the setting indepedently etc. Any advice would be appreciated!

Thank you!

What research have you already done into this condition and how it affects children's learning and development? Have you spoken to the parents about the kind of support they provide at home?

Yes, I've read lots on ther condition, but I haven't found a lot that is helpful for teachers! I've had lots of meetings with mum who also has achodroplasia, which has helped. We have also observed the child in the setting with an OT who has advised us on resources to buy, but have come to the conclusion that a step is the best option rather than buying in special chairs that adults would have to help the child on to.

i have had a child with me before with williams syndrome which causes children to be very small. we supplied a step to put under her chair so that she could sit properly. Small sized uniform which we organised from our supplier...other than that we had no problems but i guess it would depend on their size and abilities, as Maz says investigate with parents ...we always do a home visit with children who have additional difficulties. We also have a physio chair which is useful for supporting walking/mability if this is a concern :o

HEllo,

We had a child with Achondroplasia and really there was not a lot that we had to do to help him negotiate the setting as, being a nursery, all the furniture was just about the right height. We had a step for him for the toilet when needed. His main difficulty was the size of his head inproportion to the rest of his body. It was large and this made it difficult for him to get up from a lying position. HE was an extremely determined child who did not want 'special' treatment and would ask for help when needed.