Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Home Visits

Hi

I have been advised by our new headteacher to carry out home visits as part of our induction process in the summer term for the new children starting in September.

I have never done a home visit before and was just wondering if anyone had any advice about what to do, what questions to ask, what to take etc, just need some general advice and tips!!!

Also the headteacher has suggested we carry out a risk assessment to present to governors in advance. I was wondering if anyone had completed one before that I could have a look at.

Thank you in advance for all our advice :o

Guest Spiral

Just been talking about home visits and how I wish I'd taken a camera with me to take a photo of their child to pop in the Learning journey.

I usually ask if there are;

- safeguarding concerns

- Senco concerns

- favourite toys and activities

- whether mum/dad want to join the committee (and explain the role of committee).

I invite them to the open day we have and ensure I communicate directly with the child too.

Hope that helps,

Spiral

Guest LornaW

Spiral the camera is a great idea! Get a picture of the chil;d and the family including pets!

Always go iin twos one person plays with the child and one chats with parents in out case the Key person would play with the child and the other adult chatted with parents. Take a game, book paper and drawing pencils or felts etc but usually the child want s to tell you all about their house their bedroom and their favourite games and this is all very useful as we get an idea of how to resource the classroom at the ebeginning of term.

Also good to know what kind of birth the mum had and believe me 99.9% of mums are more than happy to tell you this. We know that children who had a traumatic birth and were low birth weight may take a little longer to get into things so this is useful information.

Have they been to nursery, pre school etc and if so what did they like doing best.