Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Travelling Children

hi

i work in a playgroup on a traveller's site with children aged 2-5 yrs. most of the children when they leave us at 5 do not go to school, so i suggested to leader the older children could start to learn to write there name. she replied ' no point most of the parents cant read or write, it would be a waste of time. personally i dont agree with this.

anyone else working with gypsy children.

thanks

alison

Sorry Alison - am still in shock at reading that comment! :o If children are showing interest in learning to write their name or in mark making in general, they should be encouraged to do so and be offered the appropriate support to enable them to learn.

I have no experience of working with travelling families, but I know that your leader's attitudes aren't necessarily the ones needed to work successfully in this field. How will you go about combating this in your setting, do you think?

Maz

thinking after half term when children are drawing picture i will write there name on the top of paper and ask them to go over it with a differnent colour. hopefully will encourage them to try. :o

Have you links with your Gypsy, Roma,Traveller education advisory team in your LA, they will have a wealth of support ideas and resources I expect to identify best practice (if they're anything like ours!).

I know they wouldn't be happy if a practitioner was taking the "what's the point" line - it's seems very discriminatory in my opinion.

Have you links with your Gypsy, Roma,Traveller education advisory team in your LA, they will have a wealth of support ideas and resources I expect to identify best practice (if they're anything like ours!).

I know they wouldn't be happy if a practitioner was taking the "what's the point" line - it's seems very discriminatory in my opinion.

do you work with travelling children if so do you learn them basic sounds.