Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Child Initiated Activity And Targets

Hi, I'm new to the forum and prior to a head teachers observation I thought I was beginning to understand the basics of the EYFS. How do you answer the allegation that child initiated activities do not challenge the children sufficiently and how can I show their targets are being addressed. I am a Reception teacher with a full time teaching assistant. One of us generally takes a focus group whilst the other observes or interacts with play activities. Some practical ideas would be really helpful. The school is expecting an Ofsted very soon and I am trying to stay calm. :o

Well, I would say that you observe children's interests then enhance accordingly so that children can be appropriately challenged within their interests. This will also engage them more, and if you consider individual needs in your choice of enhancements you can easily cover most learning intentions.

After all, the EYFS is all about observing the children!

Welcome to the forum, BTW!

Sue

PS Might this be helpful? I know it's about a day nursery, but the theory is the same. Article here.

Welcome to the Forum, Brennagh - congratulations on making your first post!

I'd agree with Sue - start with observing to see where the child is and then provide enhancements to your continuous provision to challenge and motivate children to explore and develop their thinking. A well placed adult with a question or a problem they need help to solve is always a good way of challenging children's thinking and problem solving skills too!

Good luck!

Maz

Hello and welcome to the forum. There's been a great deal discussed on here about very similar situations to those in which you now find yourself. Have the courage of your convictions - you know you are right and that your observations are being used to help the children progress through their interests.

We look forward to hearing more from you in the future