Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Hello Everyone!

I have just taken over as a manger in a committee run pack away preschool and would be grateful for any help! My experience is as a manager in a children's home so i'm new to running an educational setting and don't really know where to start.

There doesn't seem to be any paperwork in place from the previous manager apart from a safeguarding file which have been done in recent months by our chair person and an employee file.

Does anyone have any recommendations about what else is needed? Where shall I start? I like to be very organised and things to have a place to live so at the minute its riving me crazy not knowing where anything is, not being able to access things quickly when needed and trying to learn the job at the same time.

Heath and Safety checks / templates would be appreciated.

Team meeting minutes templates?

Planning documents, Short/Long term

Trackers for learning journeys

Anything you think will help!!

Thanks

Kadie :)

Hello Kadie,

I assume you have got the relevant childcare and education qualifications to enable you to be the pre-school manager and that it is just the operational side of things that is unfamiliar?

There are lots of very useful resources in our resource library, you should find many of the things you need there. Many local authorities provide support and induction for new managers - it will be worth getting in touch with them to ask. Make sure Ofsted have been informed that there is a new manager as it is one of the notification requirements. I would also look at the Leadership and Management articles in the articles area as they will give you lots of good advice and ideas.

Feel free to ask any more questions - lots of managers here ready to help!

• Like 1

Hi Kadie