Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Jolly Phonics V Oxford Reading Tree

Guest tinkerbell

Guest tinkerbell

Can you help Ive recently tuned in to a web debate about not mixing the two as the approaches are so different.I work in a school where the ORT is the main reading scheme I am just able to buy some jolly phonics books and do teach the leter sound using jolly phonics.What do you think?

Tinkerbell

I am in the same situation. I have heard that if we are using Jolly Phonics (Reception), it is not appropriate to use the ORT until Stage 5 when it seems to become more decodable.

I started JP last year in January. It went well, although my childrne needed a slower pace. I only used the Phonics and Patterned Stories of the ORT and not the truck series... well, only the "First Words" ones but when they had the character's names... not books like "The Pancake", which is pure guessing.

We use JP too. Our reading books come from a wide selection of schemes and are based on the Cliff Moon book bands. We use a lot of ORT, Ginn and sunshine spirals amongst others. 30% of our children achieved a level 3 in reading at KS1 SATs last year, so it works OK for us :D

I think books like The Pancake are perfectly legitimate for the children to read because although they may not be able to decode the words they are able to use initial sounds and picture clues to help them and these are both skills they need too. Having said that I am also a fan of phonic schemes :D