Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Assembly Ideas

Hi!

Help! I wonder if anyone can offer any ideas/ themes that I could use with my Reception class for an assembly to be done in May? My class have to perform for whole school assembly, with Key Stage 1/2. Our topic at the time will be minibeasts, but I don't have to use this theme.

I would like to use a favourite story as a starting point and develop it further to include paintings/pictures etc.

Any ideas/ thoughts would be welcome! Perhaps someone could suggest a suitable story- I am new to Reception this year!

Many thanks.

As you're doing minibeasts, how about "The Bad Tempered Ladybird" by Eric Carle. It's a great story to re-enact as there is lots of repetition that the children can all join in with and of course the story has a good moral to it - that it's important to share. Different children could take on the role of the different animals in the story by wearing masks/head-wear that they can make themselves.

You could then talk about the importance of sharing at school and at home and let the children give examples or show paintings.

Good luck anyway. I know how daunting it is to do an assembly in front of the whole school and other staff.

What form do your class assemblies take? We don't generally worry about a moral or religious slant for these, but concentrate on showing the things we have been doing and learning about. Every child is given a speaking role, we show pictures and/or artefacts the children have made, sing a song, maybe say a rhyme and give some general topic info.

The Very Hungry Caterpillar is a great book if you don't need a moral, and Cecil is a caterpillar is a fun rhyme.

Or, The Ant and the Grasshopper is another tale with a moral...

I'm there are lots of other ideas out there too :D

Hi Mollywest,