Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Letters And Sounds/synthetic Phonics

I'm preschool, but I hope you don't mind me posting in your reception forum (I used to be a reception teacher many years back and my own daughter is now in reception.)

I've just been doing some reading about the whole letters & sounds and synthetic phonics approach. From what I can gather, teachers are now encouraged to stop children from recognising words by sight. Would that be a correct assumption or am I misreading the guidance?

The reason I ask is that my daughter is picking up reading really, really quickly. But I can already tell that she is using a mix of the phonics based approach she's been taught in class, backed up heavily by the sense that she can 'see' a word and know what it is without feeling the need to sound it out. It does mean she very occasionally reads a word wrongly, and needs reminding to blend it, but equally it means that she can speed through books where she already knows most of the words and doesn't need to blend them to read them. (That's not to say she can't blend them, just that she doesn't need to).

I've also been talking to her about how some words are impossible to read by sounding out, and she's really interested by this idea.

If I am interpreting the letters and sounds stuff correctly, does anyone else feel that maybe we have thrown the baby out with the bath water, particularly for those children with a visual rather than an auditory learning style?

I'm also concerned about what it means in terms of learning speed reading techniques and spelling non phonetically spelt words later on in life.

I'm just really interested to hear how reception teachers feel about this.