Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

outdoor provision

• 2 weeks later...

Hi! This is what we have in our setting, but I'm always on the lookout for more ideas :o

* A "prop box" containing pieces of material, binoculars, notebooks and pencils, toy cameras, and all sorts of items that the children can use to create an outside story/role play/drama.

* A box of books for outside story-reading sessions

* A rough patch of ground for digging; "people at work" signs;

* A "science/investigation" area, e.g. plastic drainpipes, table-tennis balls, large pieces of wood for ramps, trucks and cars for rolling, buckets and pulleys, water table for floating/sinking activities

* A large covered sandpit and playhouse

I'd love to hear about other people's ideas :)

• 4 weeks later...

Hi all!

My names Clare (Welsh) and im a reception/yr 1 teacher. im in my 4th year of teaching (previously i taught pure reception). LAst year, as part of my early years MA 'change project' i managed to talk our head into letting us construct an outdoor learning area for our 2 reception classes. This is now up and running and still developing, but my particular area of interest now (for my dissertation)is how we develop our planning to incorporate the outdoor area in the best and most meaningful way. At the moment it is included in our weekly plan, with a section in each learning area. I know some schools/nurseries have a separate plan for the outdoor area as i am gradually collecting examples from other schools/nurseries. How different ways of planning impact on the childrens learning is another interest. If anyone could help with this area at all i would be grateful as there is a dearth of uptodate literature! (ive got the marjorie ouvry and helen bilton books).

Thanks.

Hi Clare - and welcome to the forum! :D