Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Child-centredness And The Eyfs

Hi all

This is my first time on here so I am new to this. I am currently conducting a small research project looking into child-centerdness within EYFS practice within my setting. I was curious to seek some opinions on the subject from outside the setting. There are so many defintions of child-centred practice it is hard for all to work towards a common defintion and with conflicting mesaages from the EYFS document and local government targets stressing accountbaility I was woundering how other practioners were managing what could be a dificult yet worthwhile task of remaing child-centred in pratcie.

I will look forward to the comments made thanks, C

well that is one of te things i wish to find out child centredness or childcentred practice - what does it actually mean? there are so many differeing views and phrases associated i would be greatful of your interpretation thanks

What an interesting question. xD I think one of my bugbears is that sometimes people misunderstand (to my mind!!) what being child centred is about. They think that it means we have to let the children do what they want, when they want to and how they want to. This is not the case though! Children are not capable of making all of these decisions for themselves and need caring and sensitive adults to guide them in their choices. Our job is to recognise what a child needs and respond to this.

I also think that many adults have very rigid views about what they need to 'teach' children and often impose quite ridiculous rules and routines which have more to do with the views and convenience of the adults, than the children. We need to be able to sort out the really important issues and let go of those things which, in the greater scheme of things, are not so important. :o